Amazing Grace Hymns


July 16

JESUS NEVER FAILS

Words and Music by Arthur A. Luther, 1891–1960

Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away. (Matthew 25:35)

Just when my hopes have vanished, just when my friends forsake,
Just when the fight is thickest, just when with fear I shake,
Then comes a still small whisper, “Fear not my child, I’m near!”
Jesus beings peace and comfort; I love His voice to hear.
J. Bruce Evans

The Bible teaches that some of life’s richest lessons are learned only in the valley of tears. The psalmist declared: “It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn Your decrees” (Psalm 119:71). Difficult times should be the steppingstones in our spiritual growth and usefulness. This was the case with the author and composer of “Jesus Never Fails.” Arthur Luther, pastor and musician, relates the following story regarding the writing of his hymn:

As a school boy Christian I had a burning desire to be a foreign missionary. That was not to be. Later I had an urgent desire to write a song that everyone would sing. I tried a popular song but it was a dismal failure; yet, God, in His own time and way, granted my wish and “Jesus Never Fails” has reached to the uttermost of mission fields and the multitudes have sung it. The song was written at Somerset, Kentucky, while I was there with the Dr. O. E. Williams Evangelistic Party. I received some very disturbing news from my family some 600 miles away. Worried and homesick, I sat down at the old square piano in the “Old Kentucky Home” where we were staying and as my fingers wandered idly, a simple melody developed beneath them which seemed to sing, “Jesus Never Fails.” Then and there the words and music of the chorus were born. I accepted this as the answer to my heart’s prayer and I thank Him that it proved true. Reassuring news came from home. He did not fail me … Scores of testimonies have since come from missionaries, evangelists, and others of the blessing that this simple three-word message has been to them. It has been translated into ten European languages and into Chinese … “Jesus Never Fails” has become a sort of musical slogan of Bible-believing Christians everywhere. Men sang it at the battlefront as they girded themselves for the fray. On the homefront, saints sing it as they do battle with the forces of sin, in true confidence that the Captain of their salvation fails not. I surely have every reason to praise God for this song that He gave me in the hour of my need and which has gone on to bless the entire world with its message of triumph …
* * * *

Earthly friends may prove untrue, doubts and fears assail; One still loves and cares for you, one who will not fail.

Tho the sky be dark and drear, fierce and strong the gale, just remember He is near, and He will not fail.

In life’s dark and bitter hour love will still prevail. Trust His everlasting pow’r—Jesus will not fail.

Chorus: Jesus never fails; heav’n and earth may pass away, but Jesus never fails.

For Today: Matthew 28:20; Acts 18:9; Romans 8:18; 2 Timothy 4:17

Face life confidently with the awareness that the victorious Lord is at your side. He will never fail! Carry this musical truth with you—

Osbeck, K. W. 

EZC

  • Teaching them to observe all things, whatsoever I have commanded you: and lo, I am with you alway, until the end of the world, AmenMatthew 28:20
  • Then said the Lord to Paul in the night by a vision, Fear not, but speak, and hold not thy peace. Acts 18:9
  • For I count that the afflictions of this present time are not worthy of the glory, which shall be showed unto us. Romans 8:18
  • Notwithstanding the Lord assisted me, and strengthened me, that by me the preaching might be fully believed, and that all the Gentiles should hear: and I was delivered out of the mouth of the lion. 2 Timothy 4:17

About ezekielcountdown

Committed to helping others discover the Lord Jesus Christ, revealed throughout both OT and NT. All saints are called to be Ambassadors of the gospel, may my labor herein result in God drawing others unto His Son that such may rejoice in the forgiveness, liberty, and peace granted by the Good Shepherd. Applied study of scripture blossoms into maturity, spiritual discernment, and replication of ourselves that new disciples go forth and proclaim the Good News! EZC shall challenge any ministers of Satan whose purpose is to attack the infallibility of Holy Writ querying, "Hath God truly said?" hoping to ensnare the immature. We must remain focused on whom the enemy is - wicked spiritual principalities sowing seeds of deception - our enemy is NOT the lost but the spirit behind their false ideologies and isms. Study the Bible praying God the Holy Spirit equip and teach you, for He has promised to do so (Jhn 16:13). Beloved brethren, until united in glory, Sola Deo Gloria!
This entry was posted in Amazing Grace Hymns, Worship! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

