Amazing Grace Hymns


May 20

HOLY GHOST, WITH LIGHT DIVINE

Andrew Reed, 1787–1862

That the righteous requirements of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the sinful nature but according to the Spirit. (Romans 8:4)

As the earth can produce nothing unless it is fertilized by the sun, so we can do nothing worthwhile for God without the energizing Holy Spirit’s power operating in our lives.

Unknown

I used to ask God to help me. Then I asked if I might help Him. I ended up by asking Him to do His work through me.

Hudson Taylor

One of the marks of spiritual maturity in any believer’s life is the growing conviction of the necessity of the Holy Spirit’s presence and power for daily living. How natural it often seems to attempt to live our lives and even minister for God in our own wisdom and strength. How tragic it is when churches and religious organizations institutionalize themselves with dogma or legalistic rules and practices and gradually replace the invigorating ministry of the Holy Spirit in the lives of their people. It is said that religious movements often follow a predictable course: A Spirit-filled leader, an efficient machine, a dead monument.

“Holy Ghost, With Light Divine” has been for many years one of the church’s important teaching hymns regarding the Holy Spirit’s ministry. The first stanza tells us that we need a sensitivity to the Holy Spirit’s presence in order to have clear directions for our lives. Then we are reminded that we need the Holy Spirit’s ministry in order to live lives of purity and power (verse two). We also need the work of the Holy Spirit to balance the emotional sorrows of life with “joy divine” (verse three). Finally, we need the all-prevailing control by the Holy Spirit if our lives are to be totally committed and conformed to God (verse four).

This fine text, written by Anglican minister Andrew Reed, first appeared in a publication by its author in 1817.

Holy Ghost, with light divine, shine upon this heart of mine; chase the shades of night away; turn my darkness into day.

Holy Ghost, with pow’r divine, cleanse this guilty heart of mine; long hath sin without control held dominion o’er my soul.

Holy Ghost, with joy divine, cheer this saddened heart of mine; bid my many woes depart; heal my wounded, bleeding heart.

Holy Spirit, all divine, dwell within this heart of mine; cast down ev’ry idol-throne; reign supreme and reign alone.

For Today: John 14:16–21; Acts 1:8; Romans 8:9–11; Ephesians 5:8, 9, 18

Try to engage in a conversation some respected Christian friend whose life clearly reflects Spirit control. Seek to learn more about this truth in a personal, first-hand manner. Sing this prayer as you go—

Osbeck, K. W.

EZC

  • And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you forever, Even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, becasue it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him: for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you. I will not leave you fatherless: but I will come to you. Yet a little while, and the world shall see me no more, but ye shall see me: because I live, ye shall live also. At that day shall ye know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them: is he that loveth me: and he that loveth me, shall be loved of my Father: and I will love him, and will show mine own self to himJohn 14:16–21
  • But ye shall receive power of the holy Ghost, when he shall come on you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem and in all Judea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth. Acts 1:8
  • Now ye are not in the flesh, but in the Spirit, because the spirit of God dwelleth in you: but if any man hath not the Spirit of Christ, the same is not his. And if Christ be in you, the body is dead, because of sin: but the Spirit is life for righteousness sake. But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead, dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead, shall also quicken your mortal bodies, by his Spirit that dwelleth in you. Romans 8:9–11
  • For ye were once darkness, but are now light in the Lord: walk as children of light. (For the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness, and righteousness, and truth.) Ephesians 5:8-9
  • Having their understanding darkened, and being strangers from the life of God through the ignorance that is in them, because of the hardness of their heartEphesians 5:18
Thoughts?

