Connect The Testaments


March 8: The Vine and the Branches

Numbers 7:48–89; John 15:1–16:4; Psalm 9:1–7

Jesus isn’t simply a high priority or even the highest priority of our lives. He is the source of life. In the Gospel of John, Jesus teaches the disciples that they need to depend on Him for their very lives—both in the present and for eternal life.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. The one who remains in me and I in him—this one bears much fruit, for apart from me you are not able to do anything. If anyone does not remain in me, he is thrown out as a branch, and dries up, and they gather them and throw them into the fire, and they are burned” (John 15:5–6).

We rarely think in these terms today. However, the disciples faced persecution and even death on account of their faith in Jesus. Our lives, like theirs, will be held to the same measure. They are being held to the same measure.

Today, when you look at your life, and the lives of those closest to you, do you see fruit and abundance? Or do you see another picture? Are you like a dried-up branch, devoid of any good works that speak of a godly source? Do your relationships suffer because you are at the center, not Jesus?

Throughout the trials you face—whether big or small—cling to Jesus as the source and giver of life. May you remain in His love. And may His love fill you with abundance and cause you to bear fruit for His kingdom.

How does your life bear fruit?

REBECCA VAN NOORD

EZC

  • The seventh day Elishama the son of Ammihud prince of the children of Ephraim offered.  His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering, A golden incense cup of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burnt offering. An he goat for a sin offering, And for a peace offering, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five lambs of a year old: this was the offering of Elishama the son of Ammihud. The eighth day offered Gamaliel the son of Pedahzur, prince of the children of Manasseh. His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering. A golden incense cup of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burnt offering, An he goat for a sin offering, And for a peace offering, two bullocks, five rams, five goats, five lambs of a year old: this was the offering of Gamaliel the son of Pedahzur. The ninth day Abidan the son of Gideoni prince of the children of Benjamin offered. His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering, A golden incense cup of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burnt offering. An he goat for a sin offering, And for a peace offering, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five lambs of a year old: this was the offering of Abidan the son of Gideoni. The tenth day Ahiezer the son of Amishaddai, prince of the children of Dan offered. His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering, A golden incense cup of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of  year old for a burnt offering, An he goat for a sin offering, And for a peace offering, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five lambs of a year old: this was the offering of Ahiezer the son of Ammishaddai. The eleventh day Pagiel the son of Ocran, prince of the children of Asher offered. His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering. A golden incense cup of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burnt offering. An he goat for a sin offering, And for a peace offering, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five labs of a year old :this was the offering of Pagiel the son of Ocran. The twelfth day Ahira the son of Enan, prince of the children of Naphtali offered. His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering. A golden incense cup of ten shekels, bull of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burn offering, An he goat for a sin offering, And for peace offerings, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five lambs of a year old, this was the offering of Ahira the son of Enan. This was the dedication of the altar by the princes of Israel, whe nit was anointed, twelve chargers of silver, twelve silver bowls: twelve incense cups of gold, Every charger containing an hundred and thirty shekels of silver, and every bowl seventy: all the silver vessels contained two thousand and four hunred shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary. Twelve incense cups of gold full of incense, containing ten shekels every cup, after the shekel of the Sanctuary: and the gold of the incense cups was an hundred and twenty shekels All the bullocks for the burnt offering were twelve bullocks, the rams twelve, the lambs of a year old twelve, with their meat offerings, and twelve he goats for a sin offering. And all the bullocks for the peace offerings were four and twnety bullocks, the rams sixty, the he goats sixty, the lambs of a year old sixty: this was the dedication of the Altar, after that it was anointed. And when Moses went into the tabernacle of the congregation to speak with God, he heard the voice of one speaking unto him from the Mercy seat that was upon the Ark of the Testimony between the two Cherubims, and he spake unto him. Numbers 7:48–89
  • I am that true vine, andmy Father is that husbandman. Every branch that beareth not fruit in me, he taketh away: and everyone that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit. Now are ye clean through the word, which I have spoken unto you. Abide in me, and I in you: as the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine, no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am that vine: ye are the branches: he that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me can ye do nothing. If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and withereth: and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they burn. If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask what ye will, and it shall be one to you. Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit, and be made my disciples. As the father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue in that my love. I ye shall keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love, as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, andthat your joy might be full. This is my commandment, that ye love one another, as I have loved you. Greater love than this hath no man, when any man bestoweth his life for his friends. ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth call I you not servants: for the servant knoweth not what his master doeth: but I have called you friends: for all things that I have hard of my Father, have I made known to you. Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye go and bring forth fruits, and that your fruit remain, that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my Name, he may give it you. These things comand I you, that ye love one another. If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before you. If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you. Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his master. If they have persecuted me, they will persecute you also: if they ahve kept my word, they will also keep yours. But all these things will they do unto you for my Name’s sake, because they have not known him that sent me. If I had not come and spoken unto them, they should not have had sin: but now have they no cloak for their sin. He that hateth me, hateth my Father also. If I had not done works among them which none other man did, they had not had sin: but now have they both seen, and have hated both me, and my Father. But it is that the word might be fulfilled, that is written in their Law, They hated me without a cause. But when that Comforter shall come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth of the Father, he shall testify of me. And ye shall witness also, because ye have been with me from the beginning. These things have I said unto you, that ye should not be offended. They shall excommunicate you: yea the time shall come, that whosoever killeth you, will think that he doeth God service. And tehse things will they do unto you, because they ahve not known the Father, nor me. But these things have I told you, that when the hour shall come, ye might remember, that I told you them. And these things said I not unto you from the beginning, because I was with you.  John 15:1–16:4
  • . Psalm 9:1–7
About ezekielcountdown

Committed to helping others discover the Lord Jesus Christ, revealed throughout both OT and NT. All saints are called to be Ambassadors of the gospel, may my labor herein result in God drawing others unto His Son that such may rejoice in the forgiveness, liberty, and peace granted by the Good Shepherd. Applied study of scripture blossoms into maturity, spiritual discernment, and replication of ourselves that new disciples go forth and proclaim the Good News! EZC shall challenge any ministers of Satan whose purpose is to attack the infallibility of Holy Writ querying, "Hath God truly said?" hoping to ensnare the immature. We must remain focused on whom the enemy is - wicked spiritual principalities sowing seeds of deception - our enemy is NOT the lost but the spirit behind their false ideologies and isms. Study the Bible praying God the Holy Spirit equip and teach you, for He has promised to do so (Jhn 16:13). Beloved brethren, until united in glory, Sola Deo Gloria!
This entry was posted in John D. Barry, R. Kruyswijk, Rebecca Van Noord and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

