Amazing Grace Hymns


February 18

HE LIFTED ME

Words and Music by Charles H. Gabriel, 1856–1932

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. (Psalm 40:2, 3)

O the love that sought me! O the blood that bought me!
O the grace that brought me to the fold!
Wondrous grace that brought me to the fold!
W. Spencer Walton

Occasionally it is good for each of us as Christians to reflect seriously on a question such as this: “Where would I be today if God had not transformed my life, established my ways, and given me a life of joy and praise?” With all of the allurements of sin so rampant in today’s society, we must readily confess that except for the love and grace of God, we too could find ourselves with broken and shameful lives. But we have been accepted into the beloved and made children of the heavenly kingdom. Through the redemptive work of Christ, we have been given a new and higher “plane” on which to live. With the author and composer Charles Gabriel we can only exclaim, “O praise His name, He lifted me!” Such divine love on our behalf calls forth a response of thankful gratitude and a sincere desire to see other needy individuals share this redemptive experience.

Charles H. Gabriel was one of the best known and most prolific gospel songwriters of the late 19th and early 20th century eras. His fame as a successful composer became widely known, especially with the use of his songs by Homer Rodeheaver in the large Billy Sunday evangelistic campaigns. “He Lifted Me” first appeared in the collection Revival Hymns, published in 1905.

In loving kindness Jesus came my soul in mercy to reclaim, and from the depths of sin and shame thru grace He lifted me.

He called me long before I heard, before my sinful heart was stirred, but when I took him at His word, forgiv’n He lifted me.

His brow was pierced with many a thorn; His hands by cruel nails were torn when from my guilt and grief, forlorn, in love He lifted me.

Now on a higher plain I dwell, and with my soul I know ’tis well; yet how or why, I cannot tell, He should have lifted me.

Chorus: From sinking sand He lifted me; with tender hand He lifted me; from shades of night to plains of light, O praise His name, He lifted me!

For Today: Psalm 40; Isaiah 61:10; Philippians 3:8; Revelation 1:5

Express gratitude and praise to God for His transforming power and love in your life. Determine to share your testimony with another. Use this musical testimony as a reminder—

Osbeck, K. W. 

EZC

  • I waited patiently for the Lord, and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me also out of the horrible it, out of the mir clay, and set my feet upon the rock, and ordered my goings. And he hath put in my mouth a new wong of praise unto our God: many shall see it and fear, and shall trust int he Lord. Blessed is the man that maketh the Lord his trust, and gardeth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies. O Lord my God, thou hast made thy wonderful works so many, that none can count in order to thee thy thoughts toward us: I would declare and speak of them, but they are more than I am able to express. Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire: (for mine ears hast thou prepared) burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required. Then said I, Lo, I come: for in the roll of the book it is written of me. I desired to do thy good will, O my God: yea, thy Law is within mine heart. I have declared thy righteousness within mine heart, but I have declared thy truth and thy salvation: I have not concealed thy mercy, and thy truth from the great Congregation. Withdraw not thou thy tender mercy from me, O Lod, let thy mercy and thy truth always preserve me. For innumerable troubles have compassed me: my sins have taken such hold upon me, that I am not able to look up: yea, they are more in number than the hairs of mine head: therefore mine heart hath failed me. Let it please thee, O Lord, to deliver me: make hast, O Lord, to help me. Let them be confounded and put to shame together, that seek m soul to destroy it: let them be driven backward and put to rebuke that desire mine hurt. Let them be destroyed for a reward of their shame, which say unto me, Aha, aha. Let all them that seek thee, rejoice and be glad in thee, and let them that love thy salvation, say always, The Lord be praised. Though I be poor and needy, the Lord thinketh on me: thou art mine helper and my deliverer: my God, make no tarryingPsalm 40
  • I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, and my soul shall be joyful in my God: for he hath clothed me with the garments of salvation, and covered me with the robe of rihteousness: he hath decked me like a bridegroom, and as a bride attireth herself with her jewels. Isaiah 61:10
  • Yea, doubtless I think all things but loss for the excellent knowledge sake of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have counted all things loss, and do judge them to be dung, that I might win Christ, Philippians 3:8
  • The Revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave unto him to show unto his servants things which must shortly be done: which he sent, and showed by his Angel unto his servant John, Revelation 1:5

About ezekielcountdown

Committed to helping others discover the Lord Jesus Christ, revealed throughout both OT and NT. All saints are called to be Ambassadors of the gospel, may my labor herein result in God drawing others unto His Son that such may rejoice in the forgiveness, liberty, and peace granted by the Good Shepherd. Applied study of scripture blossoms into maturity, spiritual discernment, and replication of ourselves that new disciples go forth and proclaim the Good News! EZC shall challenge any ministers of Satan whose purpose is to attack the infallibility of Holy Writ querying, "Hath God truly said?" hoping to ensnare the immature. We must remain focused on whom the enemy is - wicked spiritual principalities sowing seeds of deception - our enemy is NOT the lost but the spirit behind their false ideologies and isms. Study the Bible praying God the Holy Spirit equip and teach you, for He has promised to do so (Jhn 16:13). Beloved brethren, until united in glory, Sola Deo Gloria!
This entry was posted in Amazing Grace Hymns, WORSHIP and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

