Connect The Testaments


March 7: Concerning Knowledge and Eating Meat
Numbers 7:1–47; John 14:1–31; Psalm 8:1–9

It’s easy to equate knowledge with faith and then look down on new believers. Although we might not voice it, those who are less knowledgeable in their faith can seem weak. And sometimes, instead of practicing patience, showing love, and speaking carefully about the hope within us, we enroll them in Bible boot camp for dummies.

But Jesus shows that love is what leads to growth in faith: “If anyone loves me he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and will take up residence with him. The one who does not love me does not keep my words, and the word that you hear is not mine, but the Father’s who sent me” (echoes this in his letter to the Corinthians: “Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up. If anyone thinks he knows anything, he has not yet known as it is necessary to know” (1 Cor 8:1–2). In reality, the opposite of what we believe is true: anyone who lacks love actually lacks faith (1 Cor 8:3).

Love defines our relationship with God and with each other. Christ died for both the knowledgeable and the weak, and both are caught up in His sacrifice (1 Cor 8:11). God has love and patience for the people whose own search for knowledge led us away from Him. And this should give us all the more love and patience for each other.

How can you practice humility and love with those who haven’t been in the faith as long as you have?

REBECCA VAN NOORD

EZC:

  • Now when Moses had finished the setting up of the Tabernacle, and anointed it and sanctified it, and all the instruments thereof, and the altar with all the instruments thereof, and had anointed them, and sanctified them. Then the princes of Israel, heads over the houses of their fathers, (they were the princes of the tribes, who were over them that were numbered) offered, And brought their offering before the Lord, six covered chariotes, and twelve oxen: one chariot for two princes, and for every one an ox, and they offered them before the Tabernacle. And the Lord spake unto Moses, saying, Take these of them, that they may be to do the service of the Tabernacle of the Congregation, and thou shlat give them unto the Levites, to every an accoridng unto his office. So Moses took the chariots and the oxen, and gave them unto the Levites: Two chariots and eight oxen he gave to the sons ofMerari, according unto their office, under the hand of Moses, according unto their office, under the hand of Ithamar the son of Aaron the Priest. But to the sons of Kohath he gave none, because the charge of the Sanctuary belonged to them, which they did bear upon their shoulders. The princes also offered in the dedication for the altar in the day that it was anointed: then the princes offered their offering before the altar. So then on the first day did Nahshon the son ofAmmidnadab of the tribe of Judah offer his offering. And his offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering. An incense cup of gold of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burnt offering, An he goat for a sin offeirng. And for peace offerings, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, and five labms of a year old: this was the offering of Nahshon the son of Amminadab. The second day Nethanel, the son of Zuar, prince of the tribe of Issachar did offer. Who offered for is offering a silver charge an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering. An incense cup of gold of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burnt offering, An he goat for a sin offering, And for peace offerings two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five lambs of a year old: this was the offering of Nathanel the son of Zoar. The third day Eliab th son of Helon prince of the children of Zebulun offered. His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sancturary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offeirng. A golden incense cup of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burnt offering. An he goat for a sin offering, And for peace offerings, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five lambs of a year old: this was the offering of Eliab the son of Helon. The fourty day of Elizur the son of Shedeur. The firth day Shelumiel the son of Zurishaddai, prince of the children of Zurishaddai. The sixth day Eliasaph the son of Deuel prince of the children of Gad offered. His offering was a silver charger of an hundred and thirty shekels weight, a silver bowl of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the Sanctuary, both full of fine flour, mingled with oil, for a meat offering. A golden incense cup of ten shekels, full of incense, A young bullock, a ram, a lamb of a year old for a burn offering, An he goat for a sin offering, And for peace offering, two bullocks, five rams, five he goats, five lambs of a year old: this was the offering of Eliasaph the son of Deuel. (Numbers 7:1-47)
  • Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places: if it were not so, I would have told you: I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go to prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself, that where I am, there may ye be also. And whither I go, ye know, and the way ye know. Thmas said unto him, Lord, we know not whither thou goest: how can we then know the way? Jesus said unto him, I am that Way, and that Truth, and that Life. No man cometh unto the Father, but by me. If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him.  Philip said unto him, Lord, show us thy Father, and it sufficeth us. Jesus said unto him, I have been so long time with you, and hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me, hath seen my Father: how then sayest thou, Sho us thy Father? Believest thou not, that I am in the Fahter, and the Father is in me? The words that I speak unto you, I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the words. Beleive me, that I am in the Father, and the Father is in me: at the least, believe me for the very works’ sake. Verily, verily I say unto you, he that believeth in me, the works that I do, he shall do also, and greater than these shall he do: for I go to the Father. And whatsoever ye ask in my Name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If ye shall ask anything in my Name, I will do it. If ye love me, keep my commandments. And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you forever, Even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knowth him: but ye know him: for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you. I will not leave you fatherless: but I will come to you. Yet a little while, and the world shall see me no more, but ye shall see me: because I live, ye shall live also. At that day shall ye know tat I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. He that hath my commandments, and keepth them: is he that loveth me: and he that loveth me, shall be loved of my Father: and I will love him, and will show mine own self to him. Judas said unto him, (not Iscariot) Lord, what is the cause that thou wilt show thyself unto us, and not unto the world? Jesus answered, and said unto him, If any man love me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and will dwell with him. He that loveth me not, keepeth not my words, and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me. The things that I have spoken unto you, being present with you. But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my Name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, which I have told you. Peace I leave with you: my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, nor fear. Ye have heard how I said unto you, I go away, and will come unto you. If ye loved me, ye would verily rejoice, because I said, I go unto the Father: for the Father is greater than I. And now have I spoken unto you, before it come, that when it is come to pass, ye might believe. Hereafter will I not speak many things unto you: for the prince of this world cometh, and hath nought in me. But it is that the world may know that I love my Father: and as the Father hath commanded me, so I do. Arise, let us go hence. (John 14:1-31)
  • O Lord our Lord, how excellent is thy Name in all the world! which hast set thy glory above the heavens. Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained strength ,because of thine enemies, that thou mightest still the enemy and the avenger. When I behold thine heavens, even the works of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained. What is man, say I, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man that thou visitest him? For thou hast made him a little lower than God, and crowned him with glory and worship. Thou hast made him to have dominion in the works of thine hands, thou hast put all things under his feet: All sheep and oxen: yea, and the beasts of the field. The fowls of the air, and the fish of the sea, and that which passeth through the paths of the seas. O Lord, our Lord, how excellent is thy Name in all the world! (Psalm 8:1-9)
About ezekielcountdown

Committed to helping others discover the Lord Jesus Christ, revealed throughout both OT and NT. All saints are called to be Ambassadors of the gospel, may my labor herein result in God drawing others unto His Son that such may rejoice in the forgiveness, liberty, and peace granted by the Good Shepherd. Applied study of scripture blossoms into maturity, spiritual discernment, and replication of ourselves that new disciples go forth and proclaim the Good News! EZC shall challenge any ministers of Satan whose purpose is to attack the infallibility of Holy Writ querying, "Hath God truly said?" hoping to ensnare the immature. We must remain focused on whom the enemy is - wicked spiritual principalities sowing seeds of deception - our enemy is NOT the lost but the spirit behind their false ideologies and isms. Study the Bible praying God the Holy Spirit equip and teach you, for He has promised to do so (Jhn 16:13). Beloved brethren, until united in glory, Sola Deo Gloria!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

