Connect The Testaments


February 22: The Light of the World
Leviticus 12:1–13:59; John 8:12–30; Song of Solomon 6:11–13

“I am the light of the world! The one who follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life” (John 8:12). While some of Jesus’ “I am” statements confused the Jews, the “following the light” imagery would have been familiar. God had led the Israelites out of Egypt and through the wilderness with a pillar of fire so they could walk at night (Exod 13:21). They couldn’t deflect or misunderstand this claim.

Jesus used this imagery to show the Jews that He offers clarity and meaning in a dark world. He offers life, grace, and spiritual awakening to those who are lost in the darkness. But the Pharisees couldn’t comprehend the light; they misinterpreted Jesus’ claims and fumbled around in the darkness and the details (John 8:19, 22, 25, 27).

When we’ve elevated ourselves in the darkness, it’s hard to humble ourselves in the light.
Even when we have inklings that tell us there is a better way, we don’t want to sacrifice our own pride. We prefer to be contrary and comfortable—to dwell on the details and exert our own opinions. But if we never call out the darkness, we’ll never experience the flooding of light.

Are you calling out the darkness in and around you?

REBECCA VAN NOORD

EZC:

  • And the Lord spake unto Moses, saying, Speak unto the children of Israel, and say, When a woman hath brought forth seed, and borne a manchild, she shall be unclean seven days, like as she is unclean when she is put apart for her disease. (And in the eighth day the foreskin of hte children’s flesh shall be circumcised.) And she shall continue in the blood of her purifying three and thirty days: she shall touch no hallowed thing, nor come into the Sanctuary, unti lthe time of her purifying be out. But if she bear a maid-child, then she shall be unclean two weeks, as when she hath her disease: and shall continue in the blood of her purifying threescore and six days. Now when the days of her purifying are out (whether it be for a son or for a daughter) she shall bring to the Priest a lamb of one year old for a burnt offering, and a young pigeon or a turtledove for a sin offering, unto the door of the Tabernacle of the Congregation, Who shall offer it before the Lord, and make an atonement for her: so she shall be purged of hte issue of her blood: this is the law for her that hath borne a male or female. ut if she be not able to bring a lamb, she shall bring two turtles, or two young pigeons: the one for a burn offering, and the other for a sin offering: and hte Priest shall make an atonement for her: so the Priest shall make an atonement for her: so she shall be clean. … This is the law of the plague of leprosy in a garment of woolen or linen, or in the warp, or in the woof, or in anything of skin, to make it clean or unclean. (Leviticus 12:1-13:59)
  • Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am that light of the world: he that followeth me, shall not walk in darkness, but shall have that light of life. The Pharisees therefore said unto him, Thou bearest record of thyself: thy record is not true. Jesus answered, and said unto them, Though I bear record of myself, yet my record is true: for I know whence I come, and whither I go: but ye cannot tell whence I came, and whither I go. Ye judge after the flesh: I judge no man. And if I also judge, my judgment is true, for I am not alone, but I, and the Father, that sent me. And it is also written in your Law, that the testimony of two men is true. I am one that bear witness of myself, and the Father that sent me beareth witness of me. Then said they unto him, Where is that Father of thine? Jesus answered, Ye neither know me, nor the Father of mine. If ye had known me, ye should have known that Father of mine also. These words spake Jesus in the treasury, as he taught in the Temple, and no man laid hands on him: for his hour was not yet come. Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins, Whither I go, can ye not come. Then said the Jews, Will he kill himself, because he saith, Whither I go, can ye not come? And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath, I am from above: ye are of this world, I am not of this world I said therefore unto you, That ye shall die in your sins: for except ye believe, that I am he, ye shall die in your sins. They said unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus said unto them, Even the same thing that I said unto you from the beginning. I have many things to say, and to judge of you: but he that sent me, is true, and the things that I have heard of him, those speak I to the world. They understood not that he spake to them of the Father. Then Jesus said unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself, but as my Fahter hath taught me, so I spake these things For he that sent me, is with me: the Father hath not left me alone, because I do always those things that please him. (John 8:12-30)
  • I knew nothing, my soul set me as the chariots of my noble people. Return, return, O Shulamite, return: return that we may behold thee. What shall you see in the Shulamite, but as the company of an army? (Song of Solomon 6:11-12)**

**This blog utilizes the 1599 Geneva which does not have a 13th verse in Song of Solomon**

Thoughts?

